pilgrim or tourist

I think I would like to think I am a pilgrim but in the end I end up feeling more of a poverty tourist. Walking through a bad neighbor hood is not the same as sleeping there every day of your life. Catching a tuk tuk to a restaurant is not the same is driving it for a living. Bartering a price down is not the same as relying on that price to eat.
I guess all i can say is i feel like i am here to see Cambodia its ups and downs..i think i may experience small amounts about what it is like to live in Cambodia but i will not know enough to consider myself anything but a tourist. an educated tourist but a tourist? -andrew

Leave a Reply

